Home

Just wanted to share the contents of a letter that a Year 10 GCSE Drama student passed to me today. I had talked to my class about the rumoured axing of GCSE Drama and this is how this student wanted to respond…….

‘Secondary School has been and continues to be the most terrifying period of my life. I spend 6 hours, every week up to my neck in exams, revision and homework; but also surrounded by people who petrify me simply because I am afraid they will think I’m odd. Luckily I am able to cope with this as I am not as painfully shy as I was when I began my primary school life thanks to my one true love, the stage. Somehow Drama takes away the stresses of everyday school life and of being judged by my peers because we are all equal; they don’t judge me, they judge the character I’m playing. I didn’t take drama for GCSE because I thought it was an easy option; I took it because I love it. It is so enjoyable to me even exams and written evaluations are fun and I cannot think of a greater pleasure than watching the amazing talent in my class perform monologues they have blocked, practised and performed themselves – I think you can tell that takes both courage and hard work. The thought of a child going through school without something they adored so deeply as I do drama devastates me and I would hope no human being could take that away from another’.

I don’t think there’s a teacher alive who could have said it better than that. Please listen Mr Gove.

3 thoughts on “A Student’s Perspective on Axing GCSE Drama by Ellie Russell

  1. Brilliant. I taught Drama for 25 years and feel so strongly that it is a subject which can reach places others can’t. How can something so vital be under threat – again?

  2. Wonderful to hear how drama has had such a positive Impact on your life. We all should find something that inspires and brings out the best in us.
    Maybe next time I am in England visiting your grandmother I will get an opportunity to visit you and the rest of your family. Tell your dad Aunt Terry says hi.

  3. How wonderfully put! it’s not just about passing exams – I thought the whole idea of our education system was to make our children well balanced and rounded individuals ready to take on the world. Let’s hope they listen to the people who actually matter in all of this – the students!

Leave a Reply

